Disguise

​
I recognise the life of disguise 
How it feels to be a stranger in a known place

The place where you are known but feel unknown

Where you turn into a performer unwillingly

Basically trying to merge your life

I recognise the life of disguise

The one where you have to keep shut 

To have a life

To take a step

To be considered accepted

I recognise the life of disguise

Where my real self is locked up in a room

And my performing-being is staged public

Trying to save my life

Striving to earn a living 

I recognise the life of disguise

Where I am expected to have a vargina

Where having a dick is a private affair

Wanting a conformity in the face of death

To attain prospect wealth

I recognise the life of disguise

Where cross dressing is insanity

Where expression is insanity

Where public expression of love

Regardless is an abomination

I recognise the life of disguise

When my body speaks 

My heart bleeds

It pounds

The pound of unwantedness

I recognise the life of disguise 
When I will be allowed to be genuine

Expressing myself to survive 

In a society I know 

Where I won’t be a known stranger

PS: Disguise is a poem that talks about an African gay man who has to save his life by giving perspectives, even to having a girlfriend. The inspiration is derived from an experience I had last week Wednesday/Friday. Please, enjoy. Thanks

Leave a Reply

